Yukon Walking Tours app
Our Yukon Walking Tours mobile application (app) has digital interpretive guides for the communities of:
- Haines Junction
- Watson Lake.
More guides to follow!
Yukon walking and driving tours
You can download the following Yukon walking and driving tours. Print copies of some are available at the Yukon Visitor Information Centres.
The guide to Whitehorse cemeteries introduces the ordinary and extraordinary people interred in the Pioneer and Grey Mountain cemeteries. Each person has a unique story that has contributed to the city's history.
This map guides you through the back-country around Faro along the many trails and cut-lines. You can see a variety of exciting wildlife viewing areas in the surrounding lakes and mountains, including the unique Fannin's Sheep on the 3 km long Mount Mye Trail, or hike the 67 km Dena Cho Trail.
Forty Mile townsite is a part of the Forty Mile, Fort Cudahy and Fort Constantine Historic Site. It is located at the mouth of the Fortymile River where it joins the Yukon River, 67 km upstream from the Alaska/Yukon border and 88 km downriver from Dawson City. This Historic Site is jointly owned and managed by the Yukon and Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in governments.
The Haines Road route follows a traditional First Nation overland trail from the village of Klukshu to Goat Creek, British Columbia. Haines Road was constructed during the Second World War as an additional supply line during the construction of the Alaska Highway. Along this route you will find Dalton Post, a trading post built in 1894 by Jack Dalton.
This seasonal road provides access to the amazing wilderness of eastern central Yukon. Built by the U.S. army in 1943, the North Canol Road extends 232 km from Ross River to Macmillan Pass, at the Northwest Territories border. The road passes several big lakes and the spectacular Itsi Mountain range, all within the Kaska traditional territory. There are no services along this road.
The Administration Building in Dawson represents the early work of architect Thomas William Fuller. Construction began in July 1901 and the building was completed and occupied by civil servants by December 1 of the same year! The history of the Administration Building parallels Dawson City’s evolution from an overgrown mining camp, to a prosperous capital, and finally an exciting tourist attraction in the heart of the Klondike.
In the 1920s, Laura Berton, mother of Canadian author Pierre Berton, travelled for a week on this trail at temperatures of 40 below zero in an open sleigh. The Overland Trail crosses four major rivers - the Takhini, Yukon, Pelly and Stewart rivers. There were 15 roadhouses along the trail; some of which are still standing today. The artefacts and building-remains found all along the trail are evidence of its history.
The Ridge Road winds through the Klondike region between Bonanza and Hunker creeks. It was constructed in 1899 and was the first government-built wagon road in Yukon. The road opened as a heritage trail in 1996. Hikers should allow two days to walk the trail; however, there is campground within a day's walk from either trailhead. Please do not disturb any trap boxes you may find; they belong to licensed trappers..
The Silver Trail winds through the Traditional Territory of the First Nation of Na-Cho Nyäk Dun. Rich in silver, gold and hard rock, the area offers access to Yukon's outstanding wilderness and mining history. Experience a hike on Mount Haldane or a visit to the Keno Hill signpost.
This seasonal road provides access to the wilderness of the south central Yukon and the Pelly Mountain ecoregion. The South Canol Road stretches 230 km from Johnsons Cross to Ross River. It follows ridges, often above the tree line, that provide many scenic views.
The Venus Mill was built in 1908, prior to the construction of the South Klondike Highway, to ease the high cost of shipping silver ore out of the territory. It used an aerial tramway to transport silver ore to it and a series steps that propelled the ore by water and gravity to convert it to concentrate for shipment. The mill and slope are now unstable and dangerous. Please do not stop at this site, it is closed to the public.
Yukon rocks record over a billion years of geologic history. The territory is home to four species of amphibians, 63 species of mammals, 224 species of birds, 1,184 species of plants and over 1,500 species of insects. Some regions are becoming increasingly well known for the quality and frequency of the northern lights on view. Explore with this guide and see what you can find.
This guide describes the history of railways in Yukon. The White Pass & Yukon Route (WP&YR) railway was built in the days of the Klondike Gold Rush to connect tidewater at Skagway, Alaska, with Whitehorse, at the head of navigation on the Yukon River. Today, many historic engines are protected and preserved in museums, such as the rare Baldwin Vauclain Compound, which is located at the Dawson City Museum.
Situated on the southeast shore of beautiful Kluane Lake, the community of Burwash Landing is rich in First Nation culture and history. The community grew during the 1904 Kluane Gold Rush and with the construction of the Alaska Highway. Be sure to visit the Kluane Museum of Natural History and the Ice House.
Located in the Traditional Territory of the Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation, the village of Carmacks is surrounded by a system of trails and water routes that connect the Northern Tutchone communities of Mayo, Stewart Crossing and Pelly Crossing, as well as the Southern Tutchone communities of Champagne, Klukshu and Aishihik. George Carmacks built a trading post here before the gold rush and in 1898, the North-West Mounted Police established Tantalus Post to monitor river traffic.
In 1899, this community was officially named Caribou Crossing, referring to the spot where a local Woodland Caribou herd crossed the narrows. The name Carcross was adopted in 1906. Before the White Pass & Yukon Route (WP&YR) built a railway to the town site in 1900, Carcross consisted of a North-West Mounted Police post and associated reserve on the north side of the narrows and a First Nation community on the south. An enjoyable walk around town will include a visit to the WP&YR Railway Station which is a designated national Heritage Railway Station, and the Caribou Hotel, a designated Yukon Historic Site.
Take a tour through Dawson's cemeteries and find the graves of significant community members as well as colourful characters from the Klondike Gold Rush. You will find gravesites for many legendary figures such as Father William Judge, Big Alex McDonald, and Percy DeWolfe.
After gold was discovered on Bonanza Creek in 1896, Joseph Ladue staked out a town site at the mouth of the Klondike River that provided a landing spot for riverboats delivering supplies. Dawson has historic and unique buildings originating from those early days through to today. After the gold rush, the town's population declined leading to the abandonment of many of the buildings. In recent years, a number of the historical structures have been restored.
Located at the intersection of the Haines and Alaska highways, Haines Junction is the gateway to the Kluane National Park and Reserve. That this self-guided walking tour and explore the community's rich culture and history through its buildings - old and new.
Keno City began in 1919 when silver ore was found on Lightening Creek. Within a year, it was a busy community with cabins, a stable and a hotel. After the road from Mayo was built, Keno became the centre of a thriving district. Today it is home to a small population of artists, miners and old-timers. There are many hiking trails to enjoy through historic mining areas, scenic valleys and alpine meadows.
Mayo’s history dates back to 1886 when Alfred Henry Mayo operated a post at the mouth of the Stewart River. Most of Mayo’s buildings originate from the economic boom that started when silver ore was discovered on Keno Hill in 1919.
Walk around Old Crow and learn about the history of Yukon's most northern community, located at the confluence of the Crow and Porcupine rivers. Visit St. Luke's Anglican Church where, in 1987, Reverend Ellen Bruce was ordained; only the second Aboriginal woman to be ordained by the Anglican Church. After walking around the community, you can explore and enjoy the local hiking trails.
This area was a Tlingit trading route for centuries. In 1903, Tom Smith started a trading post here, the Hudson’s Bay Company followed suit a year later. Teslin became a larger community after the Alaska Highway was built in 1942. Be sure to visit the George Johnston Museum, the Old Alaska Highway and many other beautiful historical buildings.
Heading north on the Alaska Highway from British Columbia, Watson Lake is the first major settlement in the territory and is known as the Gateway to the Yukon. Before construction of the highway, planes destined for Alaska stopped in Watson Lake to refuel. Most of the buildings in Watson Lake, including the Air Terminal Building, are made of timber construction by chinking logs together.
This publication offers a glimpse of some of the heritage sites along the Yukon River. It is intended to give you an idea of the timeless heritage and beauty of one of the world’s great rivers. The booklet is not a comprehensive history and should not be used for navigation purposes. There are books, maps, charts and guides that provide detailed histories or planning and route information.